The McKenzie Award honours a current NZARE member’s significant contribution to educational research and to the NZARE over an extended period of time. A significant contribution is interpreted as contributing to new knowledge and being an exemplary researcher in the education community in a chosen discipline. First awarded in 1987, the award consists of a citation folio and a piece of original art or craft by a New Zealand artist or craftsperson chosen by the recipient, up to the value of $2000.


2012 Terry Locke  2011 Alison Jones 2010: Cathy Wylie 
2009 No award made  2008:  John Barrington 2007:  John Codd
2006:  Roy Nash 2005: Margaret Carr 2004: Clive McGee
2003: Sue Middleton 2002: Ted Glynn 2001: Terry Crooks
2000: Graham Nuthall 1999: No award made  1998: No award made 
1997: Anne Smith  1995: Raeside Munro 1994: Ivan Snook
1993: Marie Clay 1992: David McKenzie  1991: No award made
1990: David Mitchell 1989: Richard Benton  1988: Geraldine McDonald
1987: Warwick Elley